Hearn Headlines Northeast Dirt Modified HoF Class

Posted on

Weedsport, NY (March 5, 2020) — DIRTcar’s all-time winningest driver Brett Hearn, consummate Delaware standard-bearer Harold Bunting and pioneer Southern Tier wild man Joe Donahue will officially be inducted into the Northeast Dirt Modified Hall of Fame in July. These three racing legends add their names to a stellar list of Modified standouts that was started in 1992 when the Hall of Fame was established on the Cayuga County Fairgrounds in Weedsport, NY.
The 29th annual induction ceremonies honoring the Class of 2020 will take place Thursday, July 23 at 7 pm in the Northeast Dirt Modified Museum and Hall of Fame, on the grounds of the state-of-the-art Weedsport Speedway. The event is free and open to the public, and will feature pre- and post-program festivities. The following Sunday, Weedsport Speedway will present its Super DIRTcar Series Hall of Fame 100 for the big-block Modifieds.
No driver in the modern era of dirt Modified racing — and arguably, ever in stock car history — has taken down as many wins, titles and trophies as New Jersey’s Brett Hearn. His astounding career numbers simply blow every other contender out of the water: a whopping 919 victories at 48 different tracks in 11 states and two Canadian provinces. Starting in a Sportsman car he and his father put together in 1975 when he was a junior in high school, Hearn crushed the competition at both Orange County and Nazareth before moving up to run Modified with the “big boys” in 1978. His control, consistency and professionalism have produced an unmatchable body of work: 97 track and series championships, including eight overall Mr. DIRT Modified titles, 10 Super DIRTcar Series titles, and crowns in every other title series DIRTcar ever dreamed up. Hearn is a six-time Super DIRT Week winner in both the big-blocks and small-blocks (a dozen overall) and a 12-time winner of Orange County’s crown jewel Eastern States 200, topping the companion ES 358 event 17 times. Brett is Orange County’s all-time feature winner, with 308 victories in four divisions, and also tops the leader board at Albany-Saratoga Speedway, with 136 wins. Hearn was named Driver of the Year in 1986 by the Eastern Motorsports Press Association, and was number one on Area Auto Racing News’ list of the 50 Greatest Drivers of the Past 50 Years in 2013.

Hit Counter provided by shuttle service to lax