Posted on

Lebanon Valley Speedway

April 20, 2013

Hearn Stays Hot on Cold Lebanon Night

West Lebanon, NY:April 21,13…  No, this is not a re-write from last week’s racing at the famed ½ mile dirt high banks of Lebanon Valley Speedway, but it is true that the Jet returned to victory lane to score his 2nd victory of the 2013 season.  Also, Pro Stock veteran Rob Yetman scored his back to back victory shortly thereafter.
130421mp01The chilly air was still settled into the upstate New York high banked oval alongside State Route 20 in West Lebanon.  But that didn’t seem to bother the race fans, nor the drivers as stout fields of racers made their way onto the Valley of Speed.

The modified main event was another 30 lap challenge for the Big Block division.  On the front of the field was Steve Hough aboard his #34.  But the #77F of Mark Flach jumped out to the early lead.  But another #34, this one driven by Bobby Hackel IV, spun in turn 1 on the 2nd lap, to slow the field under caution.

Then yet another #34, this one belonging to Andy Bachetti, took over the runner up spot, challenging Flach for the lead by lap 3.  Caution flew again by lap 5 for the #60 of Brian Berger, by then; the #34B of Bachetti was out front.  But this time, the #20H of Brett Hearn was sitting 2nd looking to for another win.

Hearn took over from Bachetti on lap 9, but was slowed once again by the caution as the #55K of Mike King broke a drive shaft.  Hearn pulled away again, but this time with legendary driver Kenny Tremont Jr hot in pursuit.

Tremont would come up a little short though as Brett Hearn clicked off the remaining laps on the 104.9 The Cat Lap Counter, and took his 2nd win in as many weeks.  Tremont had to settle for 2nd, followed by Bachetti, J.R. Heffner, and Donnie Corellis.

The Pro Stock 20 lap feature saw the green flag fly with veteran driver Danny Sanchez out front trying to duplicate the win his son just had in the race just before.  But his bid for checkers ended quickly as contact with another car on lap 9 ended his night with suspension damage.

Jay Corbin had just taken over the top spot, and began to pull away before that incident, but the caution had bunched the field and put last week’s winner, Rob Yetman, right on his rear deck.  Yetman took over the top spot on lap 14, and then Corbin took it back on lap 15.

But a caution slowed the field again and this time Yetman was not to be denied as he powered away and took the checkers.  Corbin had to settle for 2nd, followed by Paul LaRochelle, Jason Casey and Jay Casey.

The Budget Sportsman made their 2013 debut for a 20 lap shootout.  At the point was the #51 of Brandon Page with the #710 of Greg Catlin hot in pursuit.  As they were battling, the #1 of Tyler Dippel charged by them both and took over the top spot by lap 8.

The caution flew a few more times before the end of the event, but Tyler Dippel had them all covered and took the checkers for his first career win at the Valley of Speed.  John Virgilio made a late race charge but had to settle for 2nd.  Josh Gaylord, Matt Papa Jr, and Tommy Johnson battled it out to round out the top 5 finishers.

Hold on to your hats, cause next Saturday Night it’s the Debut of the much talked about Small Block Modifieds for a Dash Only Shootout!  Contractor Sales and Slovak Demolition and Equipment Sales present the nights festivities with the full regular weekly divisions, plus Budget Sportsman.

More Fun, More Racing, More Lebanon Valley

Big Block Modified Feature (30 Laps):  1)Brett Hearn, 2)Kenny Tremont Jr, 3)Andy Bachetti, 4)J.R. Heffner, 5)Donnie Corellis, 6)Kolby Schroder, 7)Kyle Armstrong, 8)Eddie Marshall, 9)Kyle Hoffman, 10)Steve Hough, 11)Brian Berger, 12)Jimmy Burns, 13)Keith Flach, 14)Kyle Sheldon, 15)Paul Gilardi, 16)Bobby Hackel, 17)Denny Soltis, 18)Chad Jeseo (SB), 19)Mike King, 20)Jason Harrington (SB) 21)Chad Pierce (SB) 22)Kim LaVoy, 23)Sean Mendall (SB) 24)Rob Pitcher, 25)Mark Flach Jr, 26)Nick Hotaling, 27)Brett Haas (SB), 28)Matt Quinn (SB) DNS)Wayne Jelley

Budget Sportsman (20 Laps): 1)Tyler Dippel, 2)John Virgilio, 3)Josh Gaylord, 4)Matt Papa, 5)Tommy Johnson, 6)Whitey Slavin, 7)Peter Carlotto, 8)Cody Ochs, 9)Alan Hotaling, 10)Todd Lane, 11)Ryan Darcy, 12)Brian Peterson, 13)Jim Bemiss, 14)Jack Speshock, 15)Greg Catlin, 16)Brandon Page, 17)Jeb Catlin, 18)Ray Hall Jr., 19)Brandon Pitcher, 20)Milo Campbell, 21)Timothy Davis 2nd, 22)Ricky Davis, 23)Greg DeCamp, 24)Collin Clow, 25)Scott Duso, 26)Martin Lesard, 27)Rob Maxon, 28)Rob Knipe, 29)Robbie Speed, 30)Michael Sabia, 31)Jake Jelley, 32)Mike Verhagen, DNS)Chris Lynch, DNS)Courtney Campbell


Hit Counter provided by shuttle service to lax